Transition

img_20170304_075327.jpg

I remember finishing my home science paper which was the last time I was in school uniform and the last time I saw some of the friends I considered close. By the way what usually happens? How can we be best friends for four years then once we all go our separate ways we become total strangers. Was it just for convenience or were we using each other without even knowing? Or was it just a societal norm?

And now I can feel like it’s happening again. I haven’t made a lot of friends in campus as I did in high school, I don’t know if that’s a good or a bad thing. I asked one of my best friends if he still talks to his former class mates in campus, and he told me most of the friends he had must have been for convenience. You know to form groups for assignments, to hang out with as we wait for the next class.

Everyone now has realised that it’s time to move to the next phase, they are looking for jobs, going for interviews, doing their own side hustles to make money ,you name it. Some are building new relationships and trying to figure out their purpose in life. This is the point where a lot of sieving is done. You sieve those that don’t add value and bring on bored those that do.

Old childish habits are left behind and we all man up. We move from drinking drinks whose names made no sense to drinking drinks with renowned labels. Our hang out joints are more mature, we only take part in activities that make sense and can relate to us. We dress the way we would like to be addressed and we even start to vet what goes onto our social media platforms.

For me transition is painful but an eye opener, I never know if I will be that friend that will be sieved out or the habit that will be left behind.

I guess life is one big transition.

Love Love Love

FaithyAchy

2 thoughts on “Transition

Leave a Reply

