FEAR FOR WHO?

img_20170215_000436.jpg

I turn 23 today if you asked me 10 years ago what I’d be doing at 23 I would have written down a list and given it to you with so much confidence. I love how with years I have developed into an amazing person and am able to do a lot of things on my own many are not privileged to.

Have you ever noticed between the ages of 0-18 we do things for mum and dad? You take up piano classes at school because mum said it’s good for you. You pick all sciences in high school because Dad says you will make a fine medical doctor. The irony is that when they are helping us make this decisions the tag line is usually  ”remember your doing it for yourself, not me.” After giving you a million ultimatums. Don’t get me wrong I appreciate my parents efforts, I always will. I just came to realize those were 18 years of fear. Fear of disappointing my parents, fear of being the joke of the family, fear of putting my family name on the map where it can be recognized.

By the time we join campus we gasp and realize “oh my God you mean I have wings that I can use to fly all by myself.” This feeling is usually fascinating and I love the process of self-discovery. You learn so much about yourself from the simple things to the complex ones. Then by your third year you lose yourself a little and you start to look back at the choices you made, you start wishing you could go back to your naïve days. You miss dad and mum always being on your case.

If you are okay with the choices you made it doesn’t bother you until your left with only one paper for you to become an undergraduate and unemployed at the same time. You look back and you friends/classmates seem to have it all figured out, they have jobs some have families others have even invested in both current and fixed assets while all you have is a better wardrobe.

If you feel I have spoken to you directly, close your eyes and say “F**K YOU FEAR.” Keep repeating these three words until you finally start believing it. Add it into your everyday vocabulary until its sticks.

I start 23 without fear and urge you to do the same. You want to start a YouTube channel go ahead. You want to get onto a relationship tell your significant other. Stop making decisions or denying yourself opportunities because of what other people will say or think. Fear and Faith do not coexist so choose one. I go with Faith I guess that’s why my mama stuck with the name. Don’t give fear a chance it will really destroy you.

Love Love Love

FaithyAchy

 

2 thoughts on “FEAR FOR WHO?

Leave a Reply

